Start with your child's age, not the cruise line. Royal Caribbean, Carnival, Norwegian, Princess, Celebrity, Holland America and Disney all set a 6-month minimum, with a 12-month minimum on specified itineraries; the triggers differ by line. Kids clubs begin at 3, except Carnival's Camp Ocean, which begins at 2, and Princess's Firefly Park on two ships, which lists 6 months. Royal Caribbean, Carnival and Disney describe drop-off care for babies, and each charges extra; Princess lists late-night babysitting on two ships without saying whether babies are accepted.
Rules differ by line, ship, itinerary and sales region. This guide follows each line's own help pages and ranks no line.
Minimum age to sail: 6 months or 12 months?
It depends on the line and on the itinerary. Most lines count your baby's age on the first day of the cruise; Princess's page does not say which day it counts.
| Line | 6 months applies | 12 months applies |
|---|---|---|
| Royal Caribbean | First day of the cruise | Transatlantic, transpacific, Hawaii, select South American and other selected cruises; any cruise with 3 or more consecutive days at sea |
| Carnival | At embarkation | Transoceanic voyages and remote itineraries with more than 2 consecutive sea days |
| Norwegian | Day of boarding | Cruises with 3 or more consecutive days at sea |
| Princess (page last updated Aug 08, 2025) | Alaska, Canada/New England, Caribbean, Europe, Mexico and Trans-canal cruises | All other cruises |
| Celebrity | First day of the cruise | Same as Royal Caribbean |
| Holland America | Day of embarkation, most sailings | Longer voyages, including transoceanic, South America, Asia, South Pacific and Hawaii itineraries |
| Disney | Most itineraries, at embarkation | South Pacific, Transatlantic, Hawaii and Panama Canal repositioning cruises (one year) |
Points that change your plan:
- Boarding is refused below the floor. Royal Caribbean denies boarding to a guest with an infant who does not meet the policy, with no refund or compensation. Norwegian's children-rates page says infants under six months are not eligible to travel.
- Celebrity and Holland America each give two wordings. Celebrity's Camp at Sea FAQ names only the 6-month rule and adds that some shore excursions and onboard activities need infants to be 12 months old. Holland America's "Can guests under 21 travel alone?" page says "trans-ocean crossings and remote itineraries with more than two consecutive sea days." Plan on the stricter wording.
- Disney's page says the age "varies depending on the type of cruise and when the reservation was booked" and gives no detail on the booking date.
- MSC: the Latin America (Spanish-language) version of its booking terms, clause 6.7, allows babies under two years on board, except on cruises of 11 nights or more, where the child must be at least 2 years old at boarding. Clause 10.6 advises medical advice before booking for children under 1 year. Other sales regions use the terms that apply when you book.
Baby or toddler under 3: who looks after them?
The practical question is whether anyone will take the baby while you have dinner.
| Line | What the official page says |
|---|---|
| Royal Caribbean | Royal Babies & Tots Nursery, 6 to 36 months, daytime and evening drop-off, "on select ships only; fees may apply" (Cruises With Kids guide, updated March 13, 2026). The Best Family Cruise Vacations page says "$9-12 hourly fee." |
| Carnival | "Turtles," the under-2 group (the page title says under 2; its age box shows 6 months to 1 year): arts and crafts, dance, storytime and sensory play with childcare staff. Cost shown as "Additional." At certain times Turtles can join Camp Ocean, and they are welcome at Night Owls. |
| Disney | Group babysitting for children up to 3 years at the "it's a small world" nursery on all ships. Additional fee (Disney's "Are Cruise Nurseries Open At Port" page gives no amount), subject to availability; operating hours vary, and the page says to check the Disney Cruise Line Navigator app for the schedule. That page recommends booking before embarkation. |
| Norwegian | Guppies Open Play, 6 months to 3 years: a play space where parents stay. The Youth Programs page says "Guppies drop-off is not available"; the FAQ says Norwegian provides no one-on-one care or babysitting on any ship. |
| Princess | 6 months to 2 years: free play in the Youth & Teen Club during set parent-accompanied hours. On Sun Princess and Star Princess, Firefly Park covers 6 months to 7 years, with late-night babysitting 10 p.m. to 1 a.m.; the page does not say whether babies are accepted for that. |
| Celebrity | No nursery and no drop-off for children under 3. No babysitting or in-room services. |
| Holland America | No babysitting service or child daycare on board. |
Baby gear. Royal Caribbean's baby and toddler page lists complimentary cribs on request before the cruise, for infants who weigh 30 pounds (14 kg) or less and are 35 inches (89 cm) or shorter. Booster seats and highchairs are limited, and a small medical refrigerator for breast milk can go in the stateroom if you ask before sailing. Formula, strollers and car seats are not provided. That page says diapers are not sold onboard; the Cruises With Kids guide says they are sold in shops and can be pre-ordered. The pages disagree, so bring your own.
Princess food and pools. Several Princess dining venues offer complimentary jarred baby food and pureed fruit, vegetables and rice for babies 6 months to 2 years. Its age page bars children in diapers or swim diapers, or not toilet trained, from every pool and spa.
Kids clubs from age 3: groups, cost and late nights
Carnival's Camp Ocean is the only main club with a group that starts at 2; Princess's Firefly Park (Sun Princess and Star Princess) is listed for 6 months to 7 years. The other clubs start at 3, and Celebrity, Holland America and Disney require the child to be toilet trained.
| Line | Groups by age | Cost and sign-in | Late night and curfew |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Caribbean | Adventure Ocean, 3 to 17: Aquanauts 3 to 5, Explorers 6 to 8, Voyagers 9 to 12 (Cruises With Kids guide); teen lounge and teen-only nightclub for 12 to 17 | Described as "complimentary" | Late Night Party Zone, group sitting for ages 3 to 11, 10 p.m. to 2 a.m.; the page gives hours, not a fee |
| Carnival | Camp Ocean: Penguins 2 to 5, Stingrays 6 to 8, Sharks 9 to 11; Circle "C" 12 to 14, Club O2 15 to 17 | Camp Ocean cost "Included" | Night Owls, ages 6 months to 11, until as late as 1 a.m., "for a nominal fee" (extra fee). Carnival may require guests under 18 to be clear of public areas by 1:00 a.m. unless with an adult 21 or older in their party or in a youth program |
| Norwegian | Splash Academy 3 to 12; Entourage 13 to 17 (Norwegian Spirit does not offer Youth Programs) | Complimentary, only while the ship is sailing. Parents register each child on board; first come, first served. A child turning 3 during the cruise may join on the birthday; a child turning 13 during the cruise may join Entourage from embarkation evening. Parents may authorize 10- to 12-year-olds to sign themselves in and out (ends 10 p.m.). Opening and closing hours are posted on board and in the Splash Academy Program or the Freestyle Daily. | Late Night Fun Zone, ages 3 to 12, 10 p.m. to 12 a.m., $10 per hour per child; late pick-up fees apply; the center closes for the evening if no children are dropped off by 11 p.m. Curfew for teens is 1:00 a.m.; teens must go to their staterooms unless a parent or guardian is with them. |
| Princess | The Treehouse 3 to 7, The Lodge 8 to 12, The Beach House 13 to 17 (Sun Princess and Star Princess: Firefly Park, Neon Grove 8 to 12, The Underground) | The page says the program "is complimentary during port days"; it does not say whether sea days are charged. Participation cannot be guaranteed on voyages with many families | Group kidsitting for ages 3 to 12: "Extra fees apply" (extra fee). Guests under 18 must be in their staterooms by 1:00 a.m. unless with a parent or guardian |
| Celebrity | Shipmates 3 to 5, Cadets 6 to 9, Captains 10 to 12, Teen Club 13 to 17 (Celebrity Solstice has no dedicated teen facility but still has teen programming in other venues) | "Complimentary sessions daily on both port and sea days." Teen programming hours vary by ship, itinerary and time of year. Ages 3 to 9 must be signed in and out; ages 10 to 12 sign themselves in and out; teens come and go | Late-Night Service 10 p.m. to 1 a.m. for a fee per hour per child (extra fee). Ocean ships only: Celebrity Flora and the river fleet have no youth or teen programming |
| Holland America | Kids 3 to 6, Tweens 7 to 11, Teens 12 to 17. Starts at 3 "with no exceptions"; children must be completely toilet trained and pull-up free | The page does not state whether Kids Club is free. Children 3 to 12 are signed in and out by a parent or guardian; teens are not. Port-day hours are typically 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m., with lunch not included; one adult must stay on the ship. Not offered on cruises of 25 days or longer | None listed on the page |
| Disney | Oceaneer Club and Oceaneer Lab, 3 to 10; Edge and Vibe are named without ages | No charge, but a $25 deposit goes on the shipboard account for the Oceaneer Band and becomes a charge if you keep the band; return the band at the end of the voyage and the deposit is returned. A child with an active DisneyBand+ does not need an Oceaneer Band. "Youth Activities Open House" times let guests of any age enter the youth spaces | The Disney pages give no hours |
Age 12 sits on a border. Royal Caribbean's guide has a heading that says "3 To 11 Years" while its text says "ages three to 12 years," and its Voyagers group is 9 to 12; its Best Family Cruise Vacations page gives elementary as 3 to 11 and teens as 12 to 17. Holland America lists teens as 12 to 17 but also says children 3 to 12 are signed in and out by a parent. Check the ship's program for your 12-year-old when you book.
Travelling without both parents, and the under-21 rule
Most of these pages set the line at age 21: a guest under 21 must share a stateroom with an adult, or have parents in a nearby cabin. For a child travelling with one parent or another adult, paperwork differs.
| Line | Child with one parent or another adult | Guest under 21 |
|---|---|---|
| Royal Caribbean | A minor (17 and under) without a legal guardian: the accompanying adult presents a notarized form signed by the child's guardian. If the last names differ, bring an original or notarized supporting document (marriage license, divorce decree, name change or adoption paper). | On voyages from North America, no guest under 21 is assigned to a stateroom unless an adult 21 or older is in it, waived for children with parents or legal guardians in connecting, adjacent or directly-across-the-hall staterooms. Minimum age to sail unaccompanied: 21 from North America, 18 from South America, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand |
| Norwegian | Child with an adult who is not a parent or legal guardian: a Parent/Guardian Consent Form, signed by both living parents or legal guardians with a copy of ID, goes to a Norwegian representative at the pier; failure to produce it at embarkation "may result in boarding being denied". For Alaska, Pacific Coastal and Canada/New England, the page says a child with anyone other than both parents should also carry a letter (preferably notarized) from the parents or legal guardian with the authorization, a 24-hour parent contact number, and the destination and length of stay in Canada | Same stateroom, or a connecting or adjoining one, with a guest aged 21 or older |
| Carnival | When a parent or legal guardian is not cruising, Carnival "strongly recommends" an original signed letter from the absent one. With no second parent with legal claims (sole custody, deceased), a court decision, death certificate or birth certificate naming only one parent would be useful | Boarding is refused unless the guest is in the same stateroom as someone 25 or older, with a spouse, with a parent or guardian in an accompanying stateroom, or a qualified member of the U.S. military |
| Celebrity | If last names differ, show the child's valid passport and visa (if required) and the government-issued birth certificate (original, notarized or certified copy); the parent's and child's names must be linked through legal documentation. An adult who is not a parent or guardian needs the child's valid passport and visa (if required) or government-issued birth certificate (original, notarized or certified copy), plus an original notarized letter from at least one parent authorizing the specific cruise, supervision and medical treatment. A legal guardian needs a certified Certificate of Guardianship | Not stated on the page |
| Holland America | Minors under 18 travelling to foreign countries need both parents, or a notarized consent letter from the parent or parents not travelling. If one parent is deceased or the child has one legal parent, a notarized statement is needed. U.S. citizen minors should have a birth certificate or other proof of citizenship; children 16 or older also need a photo ID. Outside the Western Hemisphere a passport is required at any age | Must travel with a parent, guardian or chaperone aged 21 or older; groups need one qualifying adult for every five guests under 21 |
| Disney | The "Authorization for Minor to Travel without a Parent or Legal Guardian" form is required for each child travelling without a parent or guardian. A parent or guardian completes it; the authorized adult (18 or older) presents it at check-in at the port terminal | Not stated on the page |
| Princess | The Age Requirements page says "proof of age documentation may be required" (passport, birth certificate or other government-issued ID) | Must travel in a stateroom with a guest 21 or older. In family groups with several staterooms, at least one guest in each stateroom must be 16 or older, if they travel with a parent or legal guardian |
Royal Caribbean's page sends you to its Travel Documents Hub for the documents a child needs for the itinerary.
Family cabins and suites
| Line | Sleeping capacity per the pages |
|---|---|
| Royal Caribbean | The Ultimate Family Suite is offered only on Harmony, Ovation, Symphony, Spectrum, Utopia and Wonder of the Seas, in the Star tier (the highest in Royal Suite Class). The page lists bunk beds and a kid's bathroom but no sleeping number. The Ultimate Family Townhouse is named on Icon Class ships. |
| Norwegian | The suite listing says Family Suites with One or Two Bedrooms and Family Suites sleep up to 6. The detail text says the one- or two-bedroom suite "can sleep up to eight" guests, with a note that capacity varies by ship. One- or two-bedroom Family Suites are listed on Norwegian Aqua, Dawn, Prima, Spirit, Star, Viva and Pride of America; Family Suites on the same ships except Pride of America. |
| Carnival | Interior, ocean view, balcony and suite pages say "Sleeps up to 5 guests," with connecting rooms. Family-Friendly staterooms hold up to five and have an extra bathroom. Family Harbor staterooms, on select ships, give access to a families-only lounge and "kids eating free at most specialty restaurants," plus one free evening of Night Owls babysitting at Camp Ocean. |
| Princess | A Family Suite is two interconnecting staterooms and sleeps up to eight on select ships. Mini-Suites and Suites have full-sized bathtubs. |
| Holland America | Suites "comfortably sleep up to 4 guests." Connecting staterooms are booked as separate staterooms. |
| Disney | The largest Concierge-level suites sleep 7 guests; all other stateroom types accommodate at least 3. One of the guests sharing a stateroom must be an adult. A larger party can reserve up to 3 additional staterooms online; for 5 or more staterooms, use a travel advisor or Disney Cruise Line. |
Do children pay the service charge or gratuity?
This guide gives no amounts; it covers who pays.
- Carnival: "Gratuities are assessed on all guests, with the exception of children under the age of 2." The page calls its daily amounts "recommended" and says you can adjust them on board.
- MSC: the Hotel Service Charge page says it does not apply to children under 2 on the departure date. For older children the band depends on the region's table: some list a child band of 2 to 17, the South Africa table 2 to 11. Age ranges and prices change from July 2, 2026 for new bookings on several regions.
- Norwegian: "All guests 3 years or older." The page does not say how children under 3 are treated.
- Royal Caribbean, Princess, Celebrity, Holland America: each page states a daily charge per guest and mentions no child exemption. Ask the cruise line when you book.
Which should you choose?
- Baby under 6 months: every line in the minimum-age table sets 6 months as the floor.
- Baby 6 to 11 months: pick a sailing that no 12-month rule in the minimum-age table covers, because those rules would not admit your baby.
- Drop-off care for a child under 3: the pages describe it at Royal Caribbean (select ships only), Carnival and Disney, all for an extra fee. Norwegian and Princess offer parent-accompanied play, and Princess also lists late-night babysitting at Firefly Park (6 months to 7 years) on Sun Princess and Star Princess; Celebrity and Holland America offer no care for children under 3.
- Age 2 and you want a kids club: Carnival's Camp Ocean (Penguins, 2 to 5); on Sun Princess and Star Princess, Princess's Firefly Park is listed for 6 months to 7 years.
- Age 3 to 5, not yet toilet trained: Celebrity, Holland America and Disney require it. The Royal Caribbean, Carnival and Princess pages state no such rule for their clubs; Norwegian's Youth Programs page refers to its FAQs for children in diapers, and its Guppies Open Play takes children in diapers with a parent.
- Age 12: Celebrity (Captains), Norwegian (Splash Academy), Princess (The Lodge) and Carnival (Circle "C") place a 12-year-old without overlap. See the border note above for the others.
- Age 8: every line above has a group; choose by cut-off ages and late-night hours. Disney's two clubs end at 10.
- Age 15: Carnival's Club O2, Norwegian's Entourage, Princess's The Beach House, Celebrity's Teen Club, Holland America's Teens and Royal Caribbean's teen lounge all take 15; the Disney pages give no ages for Edge and Vibe.
- Three generations or several cabins: use the cabin table.
- Adults only: Virgin Voyages. Its pre-voyage policies page says every sailing is created exclusively for adults, and the minimum age to book and sail is 18.
Viking, Cunard, other lines and MSC's kids clubs are not covered here; check their own websites before booking.
Need flights or a hotel quote?
If you are building a family trip around a cruise, contact us with your travel dates and we will send a quote for flights or hotels.



