Yes, a foreign visitor can rent and ride a motorcycle in Hokkaido, but only with the right paperwork: your own valid driving licence plus either an International Driving Permit (IDP) in the 1949 Geneva Convention format or, for licences from six countries and regions, a Japanese translation from an approved body. Japan allows this for one year after you land, and you should carry your passport. In the National Police Agency's categories, a 250cc bike and a 400cc bike fall in the same class; only bikes over 400cc count as "large". After the paperwork, three things decide your trip: what your rental company adds on top of the law, whether you may use expressways, and how late in the year you ride. This page is a checklist built from official pages and one rental company's published terms. It is not a shop review or a price comparison.
Which permit is valid in Japan
The Tokyo Metropolitan Police Department's page on IDPs (updated 5 August 2025) says only an IDP issued by a party to the 1949 Geneva Convention, in the format that convention sets, is valid for driving in Japan. A permit in the format of another treaty, such as the 1968 Vienna Convention, is not valid, even if the issuing country is also a Geneva party.
The page sets two conditions:
- The IDP must be within 1 year of its issue date and within 1 year of the day you landed in Japan.
- The "3-month rule" in Article 107-2 of the Road Traffic Act must not apply. It concerns people registered in Japan's resident register (medium- and long-term foreign residents) who leave and re-enter Japan.
The police list of Geneva Convention parties (updated 2 July 2026, compiled from National Police Agency information) includes the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, South Korea, the Philippines, India, Hong Kong and Macao, among others. Two catches are on the same page:
- Some Geneva parties do not issue Geneva-format IDPs (as of May 2026 the list includes France, Belgium, Monaco and Russia, among others), so their IDPs cannot be used in Japan.
- The United Arab Emirates and Bangladesh issue two kinds of IDP, and only the Geneva-format one is valid.
Look up your own country on the police list rather than assuming; it is short enough to read in a minute.
Mainland China and other unlisted cases. Mainland China is not named on the police list of Geneva parties, and the page says the list may not be complete. The police and JAF pages cited below describe no route for driving in Japan on a mainland China licence. Ask the police or JAF and the rental company before you book.
Japanese translation instead of an IDP
The police page on foreign licences (updated 5 December 2025) says holders of licences issued in Switzerland, Germany, France, Belgium, Monaco and Taiwan can drive in Japan with the licence plus a Japanese translation. The translation must come from a body the government names: the authority that issued the licence or that country's embassy or consulate in Japan, JAF (Japan Automobile Federation), and for some countries a named body, such as the German automobile club for German licences. You must not have been in Japan for more than 1 year, and the same 3-month rule applies.
JAF's English pages add the practical details:
- Carry the translation together with the original licence. A police officer may ask for your passport to check your date of entry.
- Applications are online and only from within Japan. Pay by credit card (debit and prepaid cards are not accepted) or in cash at a convenience store, then print the translation at a convenience store. Only the paper original printed there is valid.
- JAF gives an average of 2–3 business days for these six countries and regions and 5–10 business days for others. Its FAQ separately says one to two weeks from application to printing is usual, and JAF does not issue same-day translations. Because you must apply from inside Japan, plan to land days before your pickup date.
- JAF's "How to apply for a translation" page lists the fee for a translation to drive temporarily in Japan as ¥6,000 (tax exempt) plus ¥20 per printed page. A translation made to switch to a Japanese licence costs ¥6,600 including tax; JAF says fees were revised on 1 July 2026.
- JAF does not translate International Driving Permits.
Rental819, the rental company described below, posted a notice on 16 September 2026: a translation is valid until the same expiry date as the original licence, and you need a new one after a renewal or a change of details such as your address. The legal driving period is still the one year from entry that the police and JAF state.
What 250cc vs 400cc means under Japanese licence categories
The National Police Agency's English PDF "Driver's license categories in Japan" defines the two-wheeler classes:
| Category | Definition in the PDF |
|---|---|
| Large motorcycle | Two-wheeler with an internal-combustion engine of more than 0.400 litre |
| Standard motorcycle | Other two-wheelers that are not large motorcycles or motorised bicycles |
| Motorised bicycle | Up to 0.050 litre (0.125 litre if maximum power is limited to 0.4 kW or less), or rated output of 0.60 kW |
So the document draws no line between 250cc and 400cc. Both are standard motorcycles; only a bike over 400cc is "large". For Japanese licences, the PDF lists a large motorcycle licence as covering large and standard motorcycles, and a standard motorcycle licence as covering standard motorcycles and motorised bicycles.
That PDF is about Japanese licences. It does not say how each foreign licence or IDP category maps onto these classes, so you need to confirm that your own licence and permit cover the class you book. One rental company gives a rule for IDPs: Rental819's own pages say an IDP must carry a stamp in section A for a motorcycle over 50cc, while for a 50cc bike a stamp in B, C, D or E is enough. It also says the IDP should be a small booklet, not a card or a paper sheet, and that the IDP must be obtained in the country that issued your licence.
What a rental company adds on top of the law
Rental819 is a national chain whose Location page lists shops in Hokkaido at Sapporo, Shin-Chitose Airport, Chitose, Hakodate and Kitami, among others. It is used here as one example of what a company adds to the legal minimum, not as a recommendation. Other companies set their own terms, so read the terms of the company you choose.
Rental819's own website says:
- Documents at pickup: driving licence, plus the IDP or the Japanese translation, plus your passport. The IDP must show "Convention on Road Traffic 1949" and be within its one-year validity.
- Age: you must be at least 18 (FAQ).
- Payment: online by credit card only, and the card must be in the name of the person who booked and will ride.
- Clothing: long sleeves, long trousers and shoes covering ankles and toes. Otherwise the bike is not rented.
- Distance and returns: no mileage limit, no one-way rental, and pickup and return only during shop opening hours.
- Fuel: not included. The bike comes with a full tank and must return full.
- Who rides: nobody else may ride your bike. If someone other than the renter rides it, all insurance is voided.
Its price list page publishes basic fees by vehicle class, tax included. A discounted "additional day" rate applies from the second day.
| Class | 24 hours | Additional day | Optional CDW deductible |
|---|---|---|---|
| P-1 | ¥5,280 | ¥3,520 | ¥30,000 |
| P-2 | ¥7,920 | ¥5,280 | ¥30,000 |
| P-3 | ¥14,520 | ¥9,680 | ¥50,000 |
| P-4 | ¥18,480 | ¥12,320 | ¥50,000 |
| P-5 | ¥21,120 | ¥14,080 | ¥100,000 |
| P-6 | ¥23,760 | ¥15,840 | ¥100,000 |
| P-7 | ¥31,680 | ¥21,120 | ¥100,000 |
The page does not say which bikes or engine sizes belong to which class, and it does not give a Sapporo-only list, so do not read the classes as 250cc or 400cc. It also lists a rental helmet as an optional item, ¥1,100 for the first day and ¥220 per day after, subject to shop stock.
Insurance and help, per Rental819's insurance page:
- Every bike includes voluntary insurance: bodily injury to others unlimited; property damage up to ¥10 million per accident with a ¥50,000 deductible; passenger injury up to ¥5 million per person, limited to disability or death (bikes of 125cc and below are excluded).
- Roadside assistance runs 24/7 with free towing up to 20 km. Toll fees on a toll road and any distance beyond 20 km are charged to you. Some shops differ, and the page's list of shops with different services includes Kitami.
- Since June 2025, roadside assistance no longer includes on-site flat-tyre repair or battery jump-starts. The page suggests carrying a tyre repair kit and a portable jump starter on long trips.
- Theft compensation covers 50% of market value, and does not apply if you forget to lock the handlebar or leave the key in.
- An optional Collision Damage Waiver limits your repair bill to the deductible in the table above.
- Insurance may not apply in cases the page lists, including unlicensed driving (which covers an unauthorised IDP or translation), drink-driving, riding without a helmet and driving off public roads.
The Sapporo shop page lists ETC card rental at ¥220 per day and a free left-luggage service for riding or travelling belongings only. The FAQ says an ETC card cannot be reserved in advance and not every shop offers one. The Sapporo shop page points to a shop calendar but does not state whether it rents bikes in winter; ask the shop before booking.
Expressways on a rented motorcycle
NEXCO East's driver site says pedestrians, light vehicles such as bicycles, motorised bicycles and motorcycles of 125cc or less may not use expressways or motorways. Riding two-up on NEXCO East expressways is allowed only if the rider is 20 or older and has held a large or standard motorcycle licence for at least 3 years in total. The page words this for Japanese licences and does not explain how it applies to foreign ones. NEXCO East operates Hokkaido's expressways, per its Hokkaido Expressway Pass page.
JAF's driving-rules page adds:
- Accelerate fully in the acceleration lane before merging.
- Do not drive on the shoulder.
- Some areas have no service stations for long stretches, so refuel in advance.
For tolls, Rental819 rents ETC cards where a shop offers them (¥220 per day, charged with the actual tolls on return). Its ETC page says to pass ETC lanes at under 20 km/h. Its shops are not able to sell the foreigner-only Hokkaido Expressway Pass. The pass (NEXCO East, for foreign visitors with non-Japanese passports and Japanese nationals with permanent overseas residency, rented ETC card required) is limited under its terms of use, effective 1 October 2024, to ordinary passenger cars and light vehicles rented from designated rental car companies. Rental819's FAQ says its toll passes are for regular cars and motorcycles are not eligible. Do not plan a motorcycle trip around the pass; ask your rental company about tolls. These official pages do not state whether NEXCO East offers a motorcycle toll pass; ask your rental company about motorcycle toll discounts.
What the climate figures say about September to November
These are Japan Meteorological Agency (JMA) normals for Sapporo, 1991–2020. They are long-term averages, not forecasts.
| Month | Mean temp | Avg daily max | Avg daily min | Precipitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April | 7.3°C | 11.7°C | 3.4°C | 54.6 mm |
| May | 13.0°C | 17.9°C | 9.0°C | 55.5 mm |
| June | 17.0°C | 21.8°C | 13.4°C | 60.4 mm |
| July | 21.1°C | 25.4°C | 17.9°C | 90.7 mm |
| August | 22.3°C | 26.4°C | 19.1°C | 126.8 mm |
| September | 18.6°C | 22.8°C | 14.8°C | 142.2 mm |
| October | 12.1°C | 16.4°C | 8.0°C | 109.9 mm |
| November | 5.2°C | 8.7°C | 1.6°C | 113.8 mm |
Snow arrives in the last two months of that range. Sapporo's normal snowfall is 1 cm in October and 30 cm in November, with 1.9 snow days in October and 15.6 in November. JMA's normal dates for Sapporo: first frost 25 October, first snow 28 October, first ice 28 October, first day with 1 cm or more of snow cover 12 November, first snow cap on Mt Teine 18 October. The last snow of spring is normally 21 April.
Sapporo is not the whole island. JMA's "Normals for first snow" page (period August 1990 to July 2020) gives these normal first-snow dates:
| Place | Normal first snow |
|---|---|
| Asahikawa | 19 October |
| Wakkanai | 19 October |
| Kutchan | 20 October |
| Sapporo | 28 October |
| Abashiri | 30 October |
| Obihiro | 1 November |
| Hakodate | 1 November |
| Kushiro | 7 November |
The same page gives the normal first snow cap on Asahidake as 25 September and on Shari-dake as 14 October. The Hokkaido Tourism Organization's autumn guide (published 6 December 2023, partly machine-translated) says September in Hokkaido feels like October in Honshu, with chilly mornings and evenings, and that the first snowfall comes in late October or early November.
Winter road closures: the Shiretoko Pass example
Mountain roads shut for winter, and the date is set by the road authority, not by your rental company. The Hokkaido Regional Development Bureau (Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism) announced on 17 October 2025 the winter closure of Route 334, the Shiretoko Crossing Road (Shiretoko Pass, 23.8 km between Rausu and Shari):
- 24 October to 3 November 2025: closed at night, 17:00 to 9:00.
- From 17:00 on 4 November 2025 until late April 2026 (planned): closed all day.
- Other times: the release says the road can also close outside those hours if it freezes.
- Why: the pass is 738 m high, about 4–5°C colder than the towns on either side, and has 3–5 m of snow. In early November the minimum temperature there is often below zero.
- Detour: Route 334, Route 335 (Rausu), Route 244 (Konpoku Pass), back to Route 334. The release's map labels this detour section 136.0 km.
The Bureau's 1 May 2025 release says the road was due to reopen on 2 May 2025 at 9:30, with staged night restrictions at first because of frost. It adds that the road may stay closed all day after opening if ice or avalanche risk remains. It lists these past dates:
| Year | Staged reopening began | Full reopening |
|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 24 April | 25 May |
| 2021 | 27 April | 28 May |
| 2022 | 28 April | 10 June |
| 2023 | 28 April | 26 May |
| 2024 | 26 April | 31 May |
The Bureau's notices quoted above give the 2025 closure schedule, not the dates for autumn 2026. Last year's notice came out on 17 October; check the Bureau's Kushiro and Abashiri office pages and the road information system for this year's dates, and check the JMA forecast before every riding day. The Bureau's "Road traffic regulation" page also links to a closure-mail service, X (Twitter) and a road regulation map in Japanese and English (PDF). For other Hokkaido passes, check the road information system for closures along your route.
Road rules, hazards and pre-trip checks
JAF's general rules for people driving in Japan (written for vehicles in general, so also follow posted signs and your rental company's instructions):
- Keep to the left, and give way to pedestrians.
- No drink-driving, and no mobile phone use while driving.
- Do not exceed the permitted number of passengers.
- Follow posted speed limits. JAF says that where no sign shows a limit, regular-sized automobiles must keep to 60 km/h on ordinary roads and 100 km/h on expressways. JAF's page does not state that these limits apply to motorcycles or explain motorcycle helmet rules. Follow posted speed limits, and ask the police or JAF about motorcycle speed limits and helmet law.
Wildlife. Sapporo's official tourism site says Hokkaido has road signs for wildlife. The deer crossing sign is common even within Sapporo, deer can weigh over 100 kg, and a collision can be fatal, so slow down when you see one. Some areas also have signs for foxes, brown bears, cattle or horses. The page is written for car drivers and gives no motorcycle-specific figures.
Emergency numbers. Ambulance and fire 119; police 110; JAF road service 0570-00-8139 or #8139. JAF says its members get free towing for the first 20 km, and members of certain overseas clubs may get similar service. After an accident, move to safety, call 119 if anyone is hurt and always call the police. Rental819's insurance page then tells you to note the other party's details, phone the insurer and report to the departure shop. For a fall or breakdown with no other party, call the number on your rental agreement. JAF also sells an English "Rules of the Road" book, which its page describes as a translation of the Japan Traffic Safety Association's book. JAF recommends voluntary insurance beyond the compulsory liability insurance.
Pre-trip checklist:
- Licence and passport valid; IDP within one year of issue and one year of entry into Japan, or translation matching your current valid licence with driving limited to one year from entry. Check the 3-month rule if you are a resident leaving and re-entering Japan.
- IDP in Geneva 1949 format, with the right stamp for the bike you booked.
- Riding clothes that meet the rental company's rule (long sleeves, long trousers, shoes covering ankles and toes).
- A credit card in your own name.
- A plan for fuel, particularly where service stations are far apart, and a full tank at return.
- A tyre repair kit and portable jump starter if the trip is long, since roadside help no longer covers those repairs at Rental819.
- The latest closure information for any mountain road on your route.
Which should you choose: a quick route by licence
| Your situation | What the official pages say |
|---|---|
| Licence from a country on the police Geneva list that issues Geneva-format IDPs (for example the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia) | Get a Geneva 1949 IDP before you travel and carry it with your licence and passport. |
| Licence from Switzerland, Germany, France, Belgium, Monaco or Taiwan | Use a Japanese translation. JAF applications are online and only from inside Japan, so arrive days before pickup. |
| Country that issues two kinds of IDP (United Arab Emirates, Bangladesh) | Only the Geneva-format IDP is valid. |
| Country on the police "not issuing Geneva-format IDPs" list, other than France, Belgium and Monaco | Its IDP cannot be used in Japan. |
| Mainland China licence, or a country not named on the police list | Ask the police or JAF and your rental company which documents allow you to ride before booking. |
| Stay of more than a year | JAF says a foreign licence stops being valid one year after entry, even with a translation, and advises switching to a Japanese licence. |
| Want to ride two-up on an expressway | Rider aged 20 or older with a large or standard motorcycle licence held for at least 3 years in total, per NEXCO East. |
| Bike of 125cc or less | Not allowed on expressways, per NEXCO East. |
Need flights or a hotel quote?
If you are building a Hokkaido trip and want a flight or hotel quote, contact us with your travel dates.


